Skip to content
October 31, 2010 / elodie kaye

Slippery Slope

As I write, it’s beginning to snow.  Yesterday, it was 55ºF and I ran in shorts.  I’ve been saying for weeks that this was the last run in bare arms.  No, this was the last one in bare arms.  Okay, now for sure this is the last run in shorts.  If you guess enough times, you’re sure to get it right.  It’s not a proper snow, the air temperature is 37ºF so it doesn’t drift down the way snowflakes would.  This snow takes a path that’s more like a drizzling rain, light but fast, and straight to the ground.  A frozen drizzle.  Somewhere above me the air is cold enough to freeze water.

And so it begins.  In an hour or so, I’ll put on a pair of tights, and a long-sleeved tech top, gloves, and a shell.  I’ll have to cover my head.  Normally, 37ºF isn’t cold enough for me to put on a hat, but if anything is falling out of the sky, prudence requires that I take something that will at least cover my ears.  In the winter, a long run is an uncertain expedition.  Other people anticipate turkeys, baking pies, roasted chestnuts.  This year I was possessed with singing Christmas carols in August.  Now, I’m trying to remember where my stainless steel bottle is, because soon I’m going to have to wrap a sock around it for carrying warm tea on my long run.  When it gets into the 20s, the spout on my summer bottles clogs shut with frozen Gatorade.  On the bright side, in a few weeks I’ll be able to take frozen Snickers instead of gels.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Oct 31 2010 5:37 pm

    Snow? Oh no.

    • elodie kaye / Oct 31 2010 5:42 pm

      Dude, you don’t know the half of it. I’m about to append this post with the weirdest weather report of any run ever.

Trackbacks

  1. Slippery Slope Steeper « runaway life

Leave a Reply

