Skip to content
October 31, 2010 / elodie kaye

Slippery Slope Steeper

That I characterised a long run in the winter as an uncertain expedition was prescient.  By the time I started my run, just an hour after the flurries, it had cleared up.  The sun was shining, there were puffy, white clouds in a California-blue sky.  I ditched the shell, but added a thin tech tee under the long-sleeved one.  I only got about 3 miles into the 12-miler before I regretted that decision.  We were right on the edge of the strangest storm front.  To the west it was sunshine and marshmallow clouds.  To the east the sky was menacing, and yes, snowing again.  I could see it falling less than half a mile away.  The wind blew from the north maintaining this precarious boundary.  It wasn’t long before it was snowing on me too, and yet the sun shone down from the western side in the most otherworldly sun-snow-shower.  But wait, there’s more.  Hail.  The snow turned into hail.  At first I wasn’t sure, because it was small, but snow doesn’t bounce.

Since there was no possibility of wet t-shirt action on this run, I have to assume that the stares I was getting from passing motorists was because I looked suitably hardcore, running through hail in tights and a two-layer tech tee.  It’s tempting to hype it up, but once I turned away from the wind it wasn’t that cold.  With the wind at my back, I was in a cozy bubble of air all my own, watching a very peculiar battle between the furiously boiling sky to the east, and the sun slanting down on me from the west.  This unlikely drama played out for an hour.  I was alternately batted this way and that, toyed with by blowing snow, stinging hail, or mercifully soothed by golden rays.  Around the 9th mile, the system disintegrated, and the heavens benevolently let me be for the last few miles home.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Oct 31 2010 8:01 pm

    Wow. I’m glad you got back before the locusts and frogs started coming down.

    • elodie kaye / Oct 31 2010 8:29 pm

      Do you think it had something to do with Hallowe’en? It was the weirdest weather I’ve ever had on a run — amazing and cool, but freaky.

Trackbacks

  1. Reprint: Going Deaf « runaway life

Leave a Reply

