Skip to content
May 30, 2010 / elodie kaye

White Flag

This past week was DOA.  I didn’t meet a single one of my running goals, and every run had me feeling worse afterwards than before.  Now and then I come in from a run wondering what the point of it was.  Almost always, the next one is better.  If I get a few bad runs in a row, I take a day off and run easy for the next few.  This week I did exactly that.  It just didn’t work.  I can’t even blame the weather — only two of my runs were in heat.  The others were more or less the same kind of temperatures I faced in Santa Barbara for 3 months.

I’ve racked my brains for what could be the matter.  First I thought, “Too much intensity too soon.”  I ditched my hills, strides and fartleks for easy miles.  Then I thought, “Too much mileage, too soon.”  I checked my logs and I’d had a recovery week less than 10 days before.  “Not enough sleep.”  I packed in 10.5 hours for 3 nights in a row.  I’ve checked my hydration levels, nutrition, over-training metrics…  Now I have to get off this hamster wheel.  I don’t know what’s the matter with me, but running ain’t fun any more.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / May 31 2010 5:45 am

    Hmm… that kind of sucks. Wish I had some kind of useful advice to offer, but all I can say is that I feel confident that you’ll pull through it somehow.

  2. Sara Grace / Jun 1 2010 9:04 am

    I’ll race you! 🙂

    I was out of commission all last week but I’m hoping to have a 25 mile+ week this week – to offset all the work/moving stress.

    Anyway, you’ll pass through the phase, and in the meantime, don’t beat yourself up about it. Maybe you should do a couple runs where you don’t set any rules for yourself, just get out and explore?

    • elodiekaye / Jun 1 2010 12:51 pm

      Funny you should mention that, a race is one of the shake-ups I’m thinking of trying! 🙂 It’s out of character for me to run one without any prep at all, but may as well try everything.

      I taped my watch face in the middle of last week, and last night I explored a new route. It could have been cool, running an unknown distance blind, but instead it just made me annoyed and cranky. How did I get so messed up?

Leave a Reply

