Skip to content
May 28, 2010 / elodie kaye

Drifting to Indolence

This is the first week in months that I’ve felt stale.  I’ve been discouraged by aches, or my slow progress, and tired pretty regularly, but haven’t had to force myself out the door all year.  I can’t even call it a desire to skip my run, it’s more accurately a worn-out inertia.  Except I’m not worn out.  I’m not tired.  Though I was sick of the heat earlier this week, it broke and it’s a lovely spring day.  I’m not even a little bit achy.  By all the indicators I measure, resting heart rate, training effort by heart rate (EPOC), hours of sleep, even perceived effort and mood, I’m nowhere close to over-training.  Even so, the prospect of ‘forgetting’ about my run today has an alluring lustre.  Maybe the next day too.

It’s too early to feel stale.  I have more than 100 miles to run before I start training formally, and several more hundreds if I want to race well in the autumn.  I’m not sure what to do about this.  I guess I’d better go for a run and think about it.

Leave a Reply

