Skip to content
February 28, 2010 / elodie kaye

Changing Landscapes

Now that I’m in Santa Barbara, I’m running most days in temperatures around the high 50s to 60s.  I think some people can acclimate to this pretty easily since lighter clothes help to shed heat faster.  I’m not one of them; it will take me at least 10 days and up to 3 weeks.  On the bright side, my left shin and knee are doing much, much better.  Yesterday, I found that my knee was ready for more mileage, but my aerobic systems think we’re doing tempo runs every day.

I predicted earlier this month that I’d be lucky to get 80 miles in February.  So much for luck.  I have 75 miles for the month, and I’m down to just 19 miles for my rolling 4-week average.  I’m fairly certain now I won’t be able to race well for the half in May.  However, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do the 8K race this month either due to injury, but that looks like a go.

At this point, there isn’t much I can do to prepare for the 8K.  I’ll have to run it something like a tempo workout and call it good.  If all goes well, I’ll be healed enough by then to build mileage for the rest of the month.  For this first week of March, I don’t think I’ll raise much mileage.  The priority is just to run comfortably, and maybe try running a bit longer on the weekend.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Mar 2 2010 3:36 pm

    Sounds like it’s going better at least in terms of the injury(s) anyway. That’s probably the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

