Skip to content
February 16, 2010 / elodie kaye

Best Laid Plans

At the start of February, I’d hoped that this would be a mileage building week of 31 – 33 miles.  Last week I ran less than 20 miles, and this week looks only slightly better.  My left knee and shin are doing much better, about 90% pain-free.  My doc did not change the prescription however, because it’s the hour after I stop running that the pain is most prominent.

I may or may not get a long run this week.  I may or may not be able to increase my mileage next week.  I do know for certain that I’ll be in God’sCountry™ a week from now.  It must be some kind of cosmic joke that I’ll be in one of the most perfect places to run on the continent, and unable to run as much as I want.  Santa Barbara rarely gets very hot or very cold, but from past experience it will take me a couple of weeks to get used to running in the mid-60s again.

That roughly slashes my plans for February.  I’ll be lucky if I get out with 80 miles this month, and casts some doubt on my plans for a spring half.  I’ll have enough mileage to run for fun, but probably not enough to race well.  How is it that in February I’m already behind?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Feb 19 2010 6:45 pm

    Man, you’re stuck down at 80 miles for the month, and I’m still working up to 80. But anyway, from your DM posts, sounds like things are looking a bit more positive.

    • elodiekaye / Feb 19 2010 8:25 pm

      Keith, you have no idea how jealous I am of where you are. Every month is a PR, and you have probably years of running where every other race will give you a PR. Practically as good as illicit drugs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

