Skip to content
February 10, 2010 / elodie kaye

Sweet Complaints

I’m not sure I can keep calling these things rehab runs!  It snowed earlier today, but it wasn’t that cold only 25ºF, which made the snow moist and slippery.  I wasn’t sure I’d be able to run the six miles I’d planned.  My ortho and I didn’t account for slick footing.  The 15mph wind was also pretty effective in disabusing any notion I might have had about pushing any part of this run, so I resolved to let it go and turn around when I got cold or tired.

The sky was bright, but there were only a few open patches of blue in the cloud cover.  I thought maybe the wind would blow away the rest, and I’d be rewarded for my labour with a little bit of sun.  I ran softly while I waited, until I saw the lights blink on outside a few houses.  Then I noticed the houses facing west were ever so slightly rosier than the others, and I knew the sun was setting without showing itself this time.

I didn’t get cold or tired until just about 3/4 of a mile from home, so the length turned out to be nearly perfect.  My runs are now completely painless, and just about 90% of the time pre- and post-run is likewise pain-free.  I still have to ice, stretch and roll, which is literally a pain in the ass, but I have no right to complain.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Feb 12 2010 10:19 am

    Yay for blue in the sky! Yay for no pain!

Leave a Reply

