Skip to content
February 2, 2010 / elodie kaye

Run Naked

What I want to know is, how many Kenyans are flat-footed?  I bet the flat-footed Tarahumara indians were left behind to die.  That pretty much sums up what I think of barefoot running.  Man is evolved to run, but not every man born is supposed to survive.  That’s what natural selection means, that much like the dailymile team, some people don’t make the cut.

I have the feet of a duck.  I’m pretty sure I’m not supposed to make the cut.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Keith Peters / Feb 3 2010 10:01 am

    I’m skeptical of the whole barefoot running thing too. The theories behind it are a bit of a leap, the results are anecdotal, and the scientific studies are questionable and inconclusive. Not to say there’s nothing to it, but I’m not throwing away my shoes just yet.

  2. elodiekaye / Feb 3 2010 1:14 pm

    The most dubious claim is the injury prevention aspect. I’m much more receptive to some of the other benefits, like strengthening. It’s probably true that you can run faster if you can sustain it, and it seems fun! 🙂

    I think it’s more likely that barefoot running may turn out to be another training tool, like plyometrics, tempo runs and hill repeats.

Leave a Reply

