Skip to content
January 24, 2010 / elodie kaye

Fanning the Spark

I hit my mileage goal of 20 miles this week, got the 5-milers and strides.  I even did a little fartlek (1 min. fast, 3 min. slow for a couple of miles).  It was actually a little heavy for one of my recovery weeks, but I didn’t feel that tired going into it, and I needed a mental shake-up more than physical rest.  I expect I won’t be doing this much on my next recovery week.  Even though it was a down week, my 4-week average for mileage gets a bump up to 23 miles.  That shows you how dim my running was before.

Because of the train wreck that was my recovery plan after the fartlek on Saturday, I’m a little tentative about my plan for this week.  I think it’s the right time to do some hills.  I want to keep them short and informal: no more than 400m, and no times yet, just fast enough to test my hold right at the top.  I need a long run, probably a repeat of the last one: 10 miles or so.  I don’t think I’ll set a mileage goal this time around.  I’ll count myself lucky if I get the hills and long run done.  If I need to punt the hills and treat the first half of the week as extended recovery from the tragic fartlek, so be it.

I can’t say that my running is back on track yet.  I need to solidify my mileage gains, and my strides need to be smoother on a more consistent basis.  The last 3 weeks have been sound though, and I feel good about building on them.  Best of all, I think I’ve finally mastered the ITBS enigma!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. saragracer / Jan 25 2010 9:09 pm

    I think I’m going to follow your fartlek trail tomorrow. 🙂 I need to shake it up…. been getting too comfy just clocking in the miles. I always feel so good after a run where I’ve been really disciplined and pushed it.

    • elodiekaye / Jan 25 2010 9:34 pm

      I really like fartleks because of the lack of structure, no set distances, or times to compare one rep against another. If I make a mistake and run one segment too fast, there’s no evidence! If there’s a hill or wind or traffic light, I don’t have to worry about taking it into account. It’s my favourite kind of speedwork. 🙂

Leave a comment